Author Topic: Switching between two senders for one gauge  (Read 585 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline s3racing

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 538
  • Country: ch
  • Karma: 15
    • http://www.walti-sanitaer.ch
Switching between two senders for one gauge
« on: August 13, 2015, 07:51:33 AM »
Has any one tried doing this before? Using one gauge for two senders. I want to have two temp and two pressure senders each pair wired to one gauge over a switch. So that I can switch between before cooler signal and after cooler signal. Could that work or would I have accuracy problems because they are resistance based signals?? Any ideas

Thanks for any pointers or help

René

Offline jim martin

  • If something is priced to good to be true ,do yourself a favour. DONT be a IDIOT and BUY IT
  • *
  • Posts: 1314
  • Country: ca
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.dialedinperformance.com
Re: Switching between two senders for one gauge
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2015, 07:59:16 AM »
did it with a autometer head temp gauge the switch i used had very little resistance and made no visable difference on reading .
all you can do is try it




the 'WOK" June 2006 Hot VW's feature car  10.230 sec at 138.01 mph.
Sponsored by : LUCAS OIL PRODUCTS   www.lucasoil.com
KROC head porting services
Dialedinp

Offline s3racing

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 538
  • Country: ch
  • Karma: 15
    • http://www.walti-sanitaer.ch
Re: Switching between two senders for one gauge
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2015, 10:47:04 AM »
Thanks Jim
I guess I'm just going to have to give it a go. I don't want whole dad covered in gauges but also want to check the effectiveness of my cooler and the pressure changes etc. thanks

Offline owdlvr

  • Dave Hord
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
  • Country: ca
  • Karma: 10
    • Classic Car Adventures
Re: Switching between two senders for one gauge
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2015, 02:39:56 PM »


Oil temp gauge in the rally bug is actually reading three different senders. The rotary switch to the right of the gauge controls whether I'm reading of the 'E'ngine, 'T'ank, or 'F'eed (post oil cooler) sensor. The wiring for this is relatively simple, and could easily be done with a pressure gauge with no trouble. You will need to test each of the senders to correlate their accuracy both to the temp/pres you're measuring and to each other. My three oil temp senders, for instance, are off by a total of 10deg from each other when measured in boiling water. Once i figured that out, it explained why the temps "in-car" weren't matching up to what I expected.

-Dave
--
'71 Type 1 - Rally Car Project
'75 Type 1 - Heirloom
'95 F150 - Unfortunate daily driver...

Offline s3racing

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 538
  • Country: ch
  • Karma: 15
    • http://www.walti-sanitaer.ch
Re: Switching between two senders for one gauge
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2015, 09:23:34 PM »
Thanks Dave that will definitively help to keep the dash clutter to a minimum. :-)

Rene

 

Powered by EzPortal