Author Topic: Headers Leak  (Read 1413 times)

Offline 1969deluxebus

• Cruising in a Bay is the only way.
Headers Leak
« on: October 05, 2004, 01:21:54 AM »
does anyone have getting studs out of heads down pretty good? i have a leak and i am not a pro at getting studs out for the exaust. i know you can drill it and easyout it i don't have and easy out. Just thought i would put it out there if anyone would want to help or something along that line. one of those  jobs  where i bring a case of beer  and we work on the bus  and  talk about VW and stuff.. i know people but they aren't really into the VW thing and i want to get more involved in the community  :blink:  so just putting that out there.

Thanks
Matt Street
I love driving and I love driving either my bay window or TDI

Offline Cameron

Headers Leak
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2004, 08:25:49 AM »
Drilling out a broken exhaust stud is best done with the engine out of the vehicle.

You used to be able to buy a drill fixture to drill out exhaust studs. I don't know if they are still available. You could ask the guys at AirSpeed.

You will have to unbolt the exhaust system from the head, to drill out the broken stud.  File the end of the stud flat and center punch it.  Use your drill fixture to drill it out. If you can't get a drill fixture, you can drill a small hole down the center of the stud, and progressively get bigger, until you get to the tap drill size. (6.75mm for M8 stud) Retap the hole when you get to 6.75mm. Use sharp tools and lots of lube. It also helps if you use a left hand drill bit to do this job. These can be difficult to find, but they make the job easier. Sometimes the left hand drill willl lock in the stud, and simply unscrew it. But this does not happen very often with exhaust studs, as they usually rust themselves into the head.

There are also oversize studs available, if you need to make an oversize hole, M10 on one end, and M8 on the other.